Enter your keyword

JSC candidates April 2024

THE APRIL 2024 JSC INTERVIEWS TOOK PLACE AT THE Marriott Hotel, 42 The High Street, Melrose, Johannesburg FROM 8 – 10 april.



On 30 October 2023 the Judicial Service Commission (JSC) published notices in the media calling for nominations of interested persons to fill vacancies in the following courts – Constitutional Court, Electoral Court, Land Court, Labour Court and Labour Appeal Court and North West Division of the High Court. The closing date for submission of nominations was 30 November 2023.

The following candidates have been shortlisted to be interviewed in April 2024.

View the interview schedule here.

Watch all the interview videos here.

Prof David Israel Bilchitz
Adv Matthew Chaskalson SC (Withdrawn)
Adv Alan Christopher Dodson
Judge Tati Moffat Makgoka
Judge Ashton Schippers

Following deliberations, the JSC resolved that it was unable to recommend the minimum of four candidates for the President to select one for appointment to the Constitutional Court.

Judge Leicester Rock Adams
Judge Majake Meshack Mabesele (Withdrawn)
Judge Seena Yacoob

After deliberations, the JSC decided not to recommend either of the two candidates for appointment on the Electoral Court, leaving the vacancy unfilled.

Judge Zeenat Carelse
Judge Susannah Jane Cowen
Judge Shanaaz Christine Mia
Judge Muzikawakhelwana Thomas Ncube

After deliberations the Judicial Service Commission decided to recommend Judge Zeenat Carelse as the inaugural judge president of the Land Court.

The JSC did not receive any nominations for this vacancy

Mr Collen Kgaolo Stephen Matshitse
Ms Lokwalo Rose Mogwera
Mr Andrew Reddy

After deliberations the Judicial Service Commission decided to recommend A Reddy for the position on the North West High Court.

The shortlisted candidates will be interviewed during the week of 8 to 12 April 2024 and will be notified of the venue, date and time of the interviews in due course.

Law bodies and any persons who wish to comment on the suitability or otherwise of a shortlisted candidate should address their comments to the Secretariat of the JSC at MMondlane@judiciary.org.za and TPhaahlamohlaka@judiciary.org.za, Copied to: JSC@judiciary.org.za.

Comments in respect of each candidate must be submitted on a separate page in both pdf and word format, and must reach the Secretariat by no later than 29 February 2024. Comments received after 29 February 2024 will not be considered.

Issued by the Judicial Service Commission
Enquiries: Adv MS Baloyi SC 083 631 5741
Mr M Notyesi 072 334 9357


Download the ‘Shortlisted Candidates April 2024 – Media Statement’ here

View the interview schedule here.